Leason, Scott invited to World Junior camp

By paNOW Staff
December 3, 2018 - 2:00pm Updated: December 3, 2018 - 2:34pm

A pair of Raiders have earned the opportunity to compete for a spot on Team Canada at the 2019 World Junior Championships.

Goaltender Ian Scott and forward Brett Leason have been named to Hockey Canada's 34-man selection camp roster in preparation for the upcoming tournament in Vancouver and Victoria.

Scott is a familiar name to Hockey Canada brass, with experience at the World Under-17 Challenge, the Under-18 World Championships, and the Under-18 Ivan Hlinka Memorial Tournament. After being selected ninth overall in the 2014 WHL Bantam Draft, Scott made the jump to the Raiders as a 16-year-old and is now in his fourth full season with the club. The Toronto Maple Leafs draft pick currently leads the entire Canadian Hockey League in goals against average, save percentage, wins, and shutouts. Scott is one of three goaltenders battling for two spots on the team, joining Windsor Spitfires netminder Michael DiPietro and Sault Ste. Marie backstopper Matthew Villalta.

Leason has been the breakout player of the year in the WHL and the entire CHL so far. With 60 points in 27 games, Leason leads the entire country. The Calgary native also has the longest point streak in the CHL this year, with at least a point in all 27 games played so far. Unlike Scott, Leason doesn't have a wealth of experience with Hockey Canada. Thanks to his start to this season, the 6-foot-2-inch tall winger was selected to Team WHL along with teammates Scott and Parker Kelly in the 2018 CIBC Canada Russia Series, which is a heavily-scouted event in advance of World Junior selections. 

The selection camp will take place from Dec 10-14 in Victoria before the team is pared down to the final 23-man roster. Canada will open its pre-tournament schedule on Dec 19. 

Scott and Leason will be looking to become the first Raiders to represent Team Canada at the tournament since Josh Morrissey, now with the Winnipeg Jets, did so in the 2013-14 season.

Full selection camp roster


Michael Dipietro                Windsor                            OHL

Ian Scott                            Prince Albert                    WHL

Matthew Villalta                 Sault Ste. Marie               OHL



Calen Addison                   Lethbridge                        WHL

Nicolas Beaudin                Drummondville                 QMJHL

Jacob Bernard-Docker      North Dakota                    NCAA

Evan Bouchard                  London                             OHL

Josh Brook                         Moose Jaw                       WHL

Cameron Crotty                 Boston University              NCAA

Noah Dobson                    Acadie-Bathurst                QMJHL

Pierre-Olivier Joseph        Charlottetown                    QMJHL

Jared McIsaac                   Halifax                               QMJHL

Ian Mitchell                        Denver                               NCAA

Markus Phillips                  Owen Sound                      OHL

Ty Smith                             Spokane                            WHL



Jaret Anderson-Dolan      Spokane                             WHL

Shane Bowers                  Boston University               NCAA

Maxime Comtois               Drummondville                   QMJHL

Ty Dellandrea                    Flint                                    OHL

MacKenzie Entwhistle       Hamilton                             OHL

Alex Formenton                 London                               OHL

Liam Foudy                        London                               OHL

Morgan Frost                     Sault Ste. Marie                  OHL

Cody Glass                         Portland                             WHL

Barrett Hayton                    Sault Ste. Marie                 OHL

Alexis Lafreniere                 Rimouski                           QMJHL

Raphael Lavoie                   Halifax                               QMJHL

Brett Leason                       Prince Albert                      WHL

Isaac Ratcliffe                     Guelph                               OHL

Jack Studnicka                    Oshawa                             OHL

Nick Suzuki                         Owen Sound                      OHL

Owen Tippett                       Mississauga                       OHL

Joe Veleno                          Drummondville                   QMJHL

Gabe Vilardi                        Los Angeles                        NHL


[email protected]

On Twitter: @princealbertnow


Monday's Scoreboard

Join the Discussion

paNOW is happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.