Peter Ballantyne Cree Nation council, Elder election results published

By Bryan Eneas
April 13, 2018 - 2:33pm Updated: April 14, 2018 - 12:25pm

While Peter A. Beatty was confirmed as Chief of the Peter Ballantyne Cree Nation, his council members’ names were unclear.

A list has been published declaring the names of the Cree Nation’s councillors and their Council of Elders. The list was signed by Randy Clarke, the Cree Nation’s Chief Electoral Officer and circulated on social media.

Denare Beach Coun. Marvin H. Morin was re-elected. In Deschambeault Lake, Peter R. Beatty and Walter Ballantyne were elected to council. Pelican Narrows will be represented by Myrtle Ballantyne, Wesley Custer, Justin Halcrow, Weldon McCallum and Elizabeth Michel.

Harvey Natewayes and Timothy W. Underwood will represent Sandy Bay. Southend and Kinoosao elected Darrin and Kevin Morin to council. Charles Sinclair will represent Sturgeon Landing and Warren McCallum will represent the urban band members.

The Elders council results were also published.

Celina Bone is the elected Elder for Denare Beach. Arthur Beatty and Steven Custer will represent Deschambault Lake. J.B Dorion and Mildred Ratt are the elected Elders for Pelican Narrows. Daniel Bear Sr. and Evelyn Mcdonald were elected in Sandy Bay.

Florance Clarke and George Clarke Phillip were voted in for Southend and Kioosao. Florence McKay was the lone acclimation in the election, becoming an elected Elder for Sturgeon Landing. Margaret Michel and Joe McKay are the elected Elders for the urban band members.

In total, roughly 62 per cent of the bands eligible voting population, or 4,460 of 7,039 voters turned up at polling stations across central Saskatchewan, according to the list.

As per the Cree Nation’s Election Code of 2014, Chief Peter A. Beatty and his council will serve three years in office.


[email protected]

On Twitter: @BryanEneas


Ness Creek Music Festival wins provincial tourism award

Join the Discussion

paNOW is happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.