Wheat Board election results released

By Roger White
December 1, 2017 - 12:00pm

The ballots are tabulated and there are four names added to the Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission's (SWDC) board of directors. 

Voting began on Oct. 24 and finished Nov. 24.

The four farmers who received the most votes were: Brent Halstead of Nokomis (1,391), Bill Gehl of Regina (1,351), Ken Rosaasen of Saskatoon (1,325) and Jake Leguee of Weyburn (1,226). Darryl Fransoo received 1,146 votes while Glenn Tait had 1,144. Trevor Scherman finished with 959 votes.

In total 3,266 verified ballots were cast. This was the first time electronic ballots were cast for the Saskatchewan Wheat Board Commission elections. A total 1,252 votes were entered online, with 2,014 voters mailing in traditional paper ballots.

The annual SWDC annual general meeting will take place Jan. 9 in Saskatoon.


[email protected]

On Twitter: @RJWtheReporter

Sask. politicians blame Trudeau for China trade failure

Join the Discussion

paNOW is happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.