Chamber of Commerce introduces new board chair

By Shane O'Neill
November 4, 2016 - 2:00pm Updated: November 4, 2016 - 3:26pm

There was glitz, glamour and a new batch of business leaders at Plaza 88 on Thursday evening, Nov. 3.

The Prince Albert and District Chamber of Commerce held their annual chairman’s dinner and installed their new board of directors for the upcoming year.

The chamber, originally formed in 1887, is the voice of business in Prince Albert. The group and its member businesses advocate and promote positive business growth in the community, among other commitments.

Gordon Jahn, of MNP, assumed the role of board chair for the year of 2016-2017.

He said a key part of the chamber’s mandate is to advocate for the development of business opportunities. As Prince Albert’s economic landscape changes, his group wants to help make the most of new ventures for local businesses and residents.

“One of the key things that a number of us would like to see is to see if we can take advantage of changes happening in the health care system,” Jahn said on Thursday. “When we hear transformational change in health care, we wonder if there are opportunities for Prince Albert in that.”

According to Jahn, one of the ways the chamber can help is to be a voice for local businesses at city hall. He would like to see taxes in the city better reflect other areas of the province.

“We do look at the municipal tax ratio here and say it’s not in alignment with other places and we’d like to see some improvement in that,” Jahn said.. “We think it would help.”

As for the relationship between the chamber and city council and if that could change after last month’s election, Jahn said they have had success working together in recent years and he expects more positive engagement.

“I don’t think the individual councillors will make that big a difference. If everyone comes with the right attitude, I think we can continue to have constructive relationships,” he said.

Garrett Lawless, Meghan Mayer, Phil Hounjet, Robert Bratvold, Ian Litzenberger, Tracy Feher, Dean McKim, Bill Powalinsky, Jason Hurd and Thomas Seidenthal all joined the board of the chamber for the year.


[email protected]

On Twitter: @stroneill

Editor's note: This story was updated at 3:11 p.m. to substitute executive director with board chair. 

Meath Park School restoration delayed

Join the Discussion

paNOW is happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.